APSA's organized section on Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior (EPOVB) promotes interest in teaching and research on elections, electoral behavior, public opinion, voting turnout, and political participation, both within the United States and throughout the world.

EPOVB publishes the journal Political Behavior, organizes panels at the APSA Annual Meeting, gives a variety of annual awards, and generally serves as a hub for those interested in elections, public opinion, and voting.

Become an EPOVB member!  When joining APSA or renewing your membership, consider joining EPVOB. 


EPOVB seeks nominations for our section's awards. Deadline is March 1, 2017.  Details here.


Thanks for a great APSA 2016!  

  • APSA's 2016 program in Philadelphia featured dozens of panels in the two divisions associated with EPOVB: Elections and Voting Behavior (Division 36) and Public Opinion (Division 37).  A big thank you to program chairs Sara Hobolt and Joanne Miller!
  • Outgoing EPOVB president Pippa Norris turned over the gavel to Michael Martinez, our section president for the 2016-17 academic year. Heartfelt thanks to Pippa for her great leadership over the past year.
  • We presented section awards to distinguished contributors to the field - including the Warren E. Miller Prize to John Aldrich - as well as emerging scholars and graduate students. Here are some images from the awards ceremony.

Jonathan Weiler and Marc Hetherington

(Philip E. Converse Book Award)

Neil Malhotra and Yanna Krupnikov

(Emerging Scholar Award)



Alexa Bankert

(John Sullivan Award)


Joshua Carpenter and Christine Cahill

(Graduate Student Travel Award)



Kyle SaundersJoanne Miller and David Peterson

(APSA Best Paper Award)

President's Welcome

Welcome to the EPOVB Section website!  We're one of the largest and most active sections in the American Political Science Association.  In addition to organizing dozens of interesting panels and presentations at the annual APSA meetings, our awards recognize superior research in our field by advanced, emerging, and graduate student scholars. Our official journal, Political Behavior, publishes original research in the general fields of political behavior, institutions, processes, and policies.  Please let us know if you want to become involved. To join us, please make sure that your APSA membership includes the EPOVB section dues by clicking here.​

- Michael Martinez

Messages from Members

Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

Section Officers

Michael Martinez (University of Florida)

Elizabeth Zechmeister (Vanderbilt University)

Jennifer Wolak (University of Colorado)

Communications Director: 
Patrick Egan (New York University)

Executive Council:
Antoine Banks (University of Maryland)
Jason Barabas (Stony Brook University)
Jane Green (University of Manchester)
Candis Watts Smith (University of North Carolina)
Rune Slothuus (Aarhus University)
Nicholas Valentino (University of Michigan)

2017 APSA Program Chairs:
Tiffany Barnes (University of Kentucky) - Public Opinion
John Barry Ryan (Stony Brook University) - Elections & Voting Behavior

Editor of Political Behavior:
David Peterson (Iowa State University)

Section Journal:
Political Behavior

Political Behavior publishes original research in the general fields of political behavior, institutions, processes, and policies. Coverage focuses on conventional and unconventional political behavior of individuals or small groups, and of large organizations that participate in the political process such as parties, interest groups, political action committees, governmental agencies, and mass media.

Please visit the journal's website for content and information about how to submit a manuscript.