Kenneth Waltz Dissertation Prize


Eligibility: ISAC will consider doctoral dissertations on any aspect of security studies with a submission date in calendar year 2013.

Criteria: The committee welcomes nominations for theses on any aspect, and that deploy any approach (historical, quantitative, theoretical, policy analysis, etc.), in the field of security studies. Theses will be judged according to four criteria:

  • originality in substance and approach
  • significance for scholarly and/or policy debates
  • rigour in approach and analysis
  • power of expression

Process: Nominations comprise an electronic copy of the thesis, a summary statement of no more than 1,000 words from the student, and a brief supporting statement of no more than 500 words from the supervisor, all submitted to the chair by 28 Feb 2014.  Please email the thesis along with the summary statement and supporting letter to

Prize and notification: $500 will be awarded from an APSA account along with an award certificate. The committee chair will notify the recipient of the award, who will be encouraged to attend the 2014 annual convention in Washington, DC in order to receive the award in person.

The Committee reserves the right not to make the award in any given year.

See past recipients here.

Committee Members:

Joshua Rovner (Chair)                                               
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750117
Dallas, TX 75275                                               

Katherine Brown
Department of Defence Studies
King’s College London
Joint Services Command and Staff College
Wiltshire SN6 8TS
United Kingdom  

Michael Horowitz
Associate Professor
217 Stiteler Hall
Department of Political Science
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215

J.D. Kenneth Boutin
Senior Lecturer in International Relations
Deakin University
Geelong Victoria 3217

Any questions: please contact the committee chair, Joshua Rovner, at